History of Marshall, Missouri
Sixty-five acres of land for the city of Marshall was donated by Jeremiah O’Dell, deeded on April 13, 1839. It was named for the United States Supreme Court Chief Justice, John Marshall, when chosen for the county seat. After the first two courthouses in Marshall were lost to fires, the Saline County Courthouse was constructed in January 1882. It was later placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977. It is an enduring landmark in the center of the Marshall Square and a legacy of nineteenth century architecture.